Skip to main content

Monitoring Technology Patients

Monitoring Technology Patients

Learn how to monitor technology patients in ChronicCareIQ. This video provides instructions on recommended workflows for each type of technology health status. A legend of the status icons can be found here Patient Status Icons.

Workflow Recommendations

ChronicCareIQ recommends staff login three times per day to ensure patient status are reviewed, dashboard time is accrued, and patient messages can be responded to.

Alert and/or

Warning Status

Review patients with red “Alert” status or yellow “Warning” status first. These patients have exceeded a clinical threshold or boundary and are at risk. Clicking on the section of the pie chart will automatically filter the dashboard list to these patients for triage and review:

Once patients with an alert or warning status have been reviewed by staff, mark the patient as “Reviewed”. This action places a blue check mark on the patient’s status so other staff know this alert or warning has already been addressed.

The blue check mark will remain until the next monitoring period is due or the patient submits new data via their ChronicCareIQ account.


Direct Patient Messages – Alert Status

A red “Alert” will appear for patients who request contact. The task bar on the right side of the upper dashboard will alert staff to patients requesting contact. Clicking on the “Review Patient Messages” will filter the dashboard list to these patients. Once you clear the patient message in the “Comments” section of their chart, their clinical status will show.


OK Status

Review of green “OK” status patients can be performed in the patient chart or from the dashboard list. These patients have submitted answers within clinical boundaries and not reporting current issues.


Awaiting Answer/

Late Status

Patients that have not yet answered their questions for the current period show up on the dashboard as having a grey bar over their last status (this will appear over green, yellow, and red). These patients are considered current by the CCIQ system, just awaiting response. Once a patient misses two expected answering periods, they will convert to grey “?” status, indicating they are late. Reach out to late patients to ensure compliance with your program.


Pause/Resume Monitoring

The “Pause Monitoring” feature of CCIQ is intended to be used for patients on vacation or in the hospital. Pause monitoring is accessed through the “Actions” menu of the patient chart. It allows the care team to stop patient reminders and to have these patients show as not actively monitored on the dashboard during the pause. Once the pause period is over, these patients will automatically be moved to active monitoring status.

To remove the pause and begin monitoring the patient actively again, use the “Resume Monitoring” tab in the “Actions” menu of the patient chart.


Review Patients Workflow

ChronicCareIQ recommends that patients be “Marked as Reviewed” once staff has assessed and reviewed a patient’s chart. This ensures that other staff know that the patient has already been reviewed and any issues are addressed. This indicates that the patient has been responded to and no further action is needed until the next status update is submitted by the patient to CCIQ. (Note that chart review is required to mark patients of alert/warning/no login statuses as “Reviewed”)


No Login Status

The pink “No Login” means that a technology patient has not completed the account set up for CCIQ. It is recommended staff reach out to these patients to ensure enrollment and compliance with their program. If a patient does not self-enroll, they will be converted to phone patient monitoring. If the pink status has a red email overlay

, this means the email for the patient is invalid and needs to be updated.


Locked Status

The lock status is designed to be used by staff who are actively in the process of viewing a patient chart. For practices with multiple users this feature indicates to other staff members that the patient is currently being processed and in review by another staff member.


Finished Status

The patients who have completed a custom duration monitoring program can be reviewed for needing additional monitoring or deactivated. To convert these patients to monitoring duration that does not end on a certain date, navigate to “Protocol” edit icon within the patient chart and change the duration to “perpetual monitoring”.

Did this answer your question?